Pssst! Three Easy Hacks to Make Your Eyes Look Bigger

Bright eyes are important for any look. Look at your favorite Instagram makeup or beauty influencer. There’s a chance that eyes captured your attention. #EyeMakeup alone racks up 1.9 million results on Instagram.

Large, glowing eyes are the heart of gorgeous makeup. Since I was a child, my mother always emphasized the importance of a natural look but I always loved bold eyeliner and eyeshadow. I still do to this day! Despite the popularity, dark colors around your eyes can make them appear smaller.

The moral of the story? Eyeliner is always going to make your eyes look smaller. If you’re a liner lover like me, use these three tips to make your eyes appear bigger:

Illuminate the inner corner of the eyes

I preach this all the time! Add illumination to the inner corner of your eyes, spreading the eyeshadow underneath and up to the brow bone. This can drastically change the brightness of your eyes! Choose a light, shimmery eyeshadow that’s slightly lighter than your skin tone. A quick application example (click to view):

use

Only line halfway

This is something my mother always taught me. Thanks momma! Don’t close your eyes off with eyeliner – Only line to the middle point of your eyelid. I keep this in mind for both my upper lash line and lower lash line, unless I’m going for a super sultry look.

IMG_1888
A half-lined look on the upper lash line!

Light colors

Use light colors to make your natural eye color pop! I have green eyes, so my go-to is a light purple or pink. Light green is great for browns eyes and corals are great for blue eyes. Do your thing!

IMG_7453

White eyeliner is another fun way to accentuate the eyes. I still recommend lining halfway because of my style preferences, but this is a much better option if you’re looking to line the entire upper and lower lash lines while maintaining a bright-eyed look.

It’s as simple as that! Introduce these three tips into your eye makeup routine for glowing eyes! No need to fear – Eyeliner lovers can rock bright eyes too! Interested in more eye makeup tips? Follow this blog and subscribe to Gaze Guru on YouTube.

2 Comments Add yours

    1. gazeguru says:

      Thanks so much, Shayna!

      Like

Leave a comment